A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in cuttack

Administration in Cuttack

Cuttack is one of the major cities of Odisha and also known as the administrative capital of the state. There are 30 districts in Odisha and for its administration power the Odisha Administrative Tribunal was set up in 1986. The present capital of Odisha is Bhubaneswar but before that Cuttack was the Capital of the state. The executive power of the State of Odisha rest on the shoulders of its Chief Minister.The members of Legislative Assembly get elected every five years by the people of Odisha.

Administration in Cuttack

Legislative Assembly of Odisha

The Odisha Legislative Assembly is unicameral in nature. The seat of the Legislative Assembly is at Bhubaneshwar, being capital of the state. There are 147 Vidhan sabha constituencies are there in Odisha of which 9 Vidhan sabha constituencies fall under the jurisdiction of Cuttack district.

Civil Administration of Cuttack

Cuttack is administered under CMC or Cuttack Municipal Corporation which was incorporated in the year 1876. It was later known as Cuttack Municipality until August 1984 when Cuttack was accorded with the status of Municipal Corporation. The Commissioner of CMC is one of the important parts of Indian Administrative Services which is appointed by the elected state government and Mayor of Cuttack heads the CMC or Cuttack Municipal Corporation. The residents of Cuttack elect its 58 councilors which represent them in CMC and they in turn elect the Mayor.
The basic responsibilities of CMC are:
  • Construction & Maintenance of Civic Infrastructure and Poverty Alleviation
  • Looking after several services including the Sanitation & Public health
  • Issue of Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates
  • Looking after the alteration of Holdings
  • Creating Vending Zones across the city
  • Working for the Removal of the Encroachment
  • Issue of the Trade & Carriage license

Cuttack Development Authority (CDA)

The Cuttack Development Authority has been constituted under the provisions of the Orissa Development Authorities Act, 1982 with effect from 1st January 1983. Since then the Organization is functioning with is 6 Branches namely, Planning branch, Engineering branch, Architectural branch, Finance and accounts, Administrative and Estate branch, Coordination and Enforcement branch.

Here are the contact details of officers of Cuttack Development Authority:

Sri Injeti Srinivas, IAS
Phone: 0674-2536903

Sri Pratap Chandra Dash, OAS(SAG)
Vice Chairman
Phone: 0671-2312299

Sri Akhila Chandra Naik, OFS (I) SB
Finance & Accounts Member
Phone: 0671-2334586

Sri Sudhansu Kumar Nayak , EE PH
Engineer Member I/C
Phone: 0671-2312273

Sri Gouri Shankar Bhuyan, AP
Planning Member
Phone: 0671-2312325

Sri Saraoj Kumar Sethi, OAS(I)SB
Phone: 0671-2315594

Sri Sudhansu Kumar Nayak , EE PH
Executive Engineer, Div-I, I/C
Phone: 0671-2321452

Sri Sudhansu Kumar Nayak , EE PH
Executive Engineer, Div-II,
Phone: 0671-2603565

Sri Sudhansu Sekher Nayak
Administrative Officer
Phone: 0671-2314401

Smt. Sumita Das, OAS (I) JB
Enforcement Officer
Phone: 0671-2312610

Sri Simanta Senanayak
Deputy Finance Manager   
Phone: 0671-2334931

Sri Jnendra Prasad Samal
Law Officer
Phone: 0671-2334783

Cuttack City Police

Established in 2008 Bhubaneswar-Cuttack Police Commissionerate, has primary responsibilities of law enforcement and investigation within Bhubaneswar-Cuttack area. It was formed under the Orissa Urban Police Act, 2003 by a gazette notification which came into effect on 1 January 2008. It has 40 police stations under its jurisdiction. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma, IPS is the present Commissioner of the Bhubaneswar–Cuttack Police Commissionerate.

Administration in Cuttack

The efficient administration of Cuttack helps people residing here and also people visiting here enjoy a better quality of life and help the economy to grow and develop in a much better way.

You may also like to visit

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries